Охрана культурного наследия Японии с помощью дронов и карт

Благодаря 3D-моделям, созданным с помощью DJI Terra, Япония теперь имеет доступ к мельчайшим деталям архитектуры многовекового исторического наследия

By Ishveena Singh Ishveena Singh
июня 21, 2021

Топография Японии и экстремальные климатические изменения делают страну подверженной стихийным бедствиям. Землетрясения и цунами — обычное для региона явление, равно как и извержения вулканов, тайфуны, наводнения и оползни. Однако это не мешает Японии оставаться процветающим государством. Население Японии привыкло бороться с трудностями.

Сохранение исторического наследия лежит в основе японской культуры эффективности и устойчивости. Жизнь продолжается, но такие события не забываются. В ходе восстановления после бедствий государство старается не нарушить историческое полотно культурных ценностей. Япония тесно связывает культурное наследие с развитием общества, поэтому особое внимание уделяется созданию цифровых дубликатов исторических объектов для их увековечения и сохранения.

Замок, поднимающийся из моря

Замок Карацу, размещенный на вершине небольшого холма над заливом Карацу в префектуре Сага в Японии, является достопримечательностью во время цветения азалии, вишни и глицинии. Замок, напоминающий голову журавля, насчитывает более 400 лет истории. 

Karatsu Castle scene

Строительство замка Карацу началось в 1602 году и продолжалось около семи лет. Замок был символом города до тех пор, пока не был снесен в 1872 году после упразднения феодализма в Японии. Нынешняя пятиуровневая структура замка представляет собой реконструкцию, которая была создана с использованием традиционных методов и технологий, чтобы восстановить памятник образца XVII века.

Каменные стены башни замка — единственная часть, оставшаяся от первоначальной конструкции. Историческое значение этого объекта неоценимо.

«Каменные стены разрушаются из-за проникновения воды, вызванной землетрясениями и проливными дождями», — объясняет Сатоши Кимото, отдел городского планирования, город Карацу, префектура Сага. Так, встала острая необходимость охраны замка Карацу.

Karatsu Castle walls

Toppen Co., Ltd — компания в префектуре Сага, специализирующаяся на цифровом сохранении культурных и исторических объектов. Задача по сохранению наследия многовекового замка была передана компании Управлением по охране культурных ценностей города Карацу. 

Старший инженер Кеничиро Танака объясняет, что, как правило, компания создает архитектурные чертежи из фотографий, чтобы сохранить детали фасада здания для будущих поколений. Однако в случае с замком Карацу обычных методов было бы недостаточно. «Поскольку каменные стены представляют собой трехмерную структуру, традиционные методы не позволяют точно и достоверно воспроизвести объект».

Нынешние методы сбора данных не дают желаемых результатов, поэтому Toppen решила использовать инновационные инструменты и технологии, которые позволили бы компании провести трехмерные измерения и создать реалистичную модель замка в высоком разрешении.

Инновационные технологии на службе истории: дроны и картографирование в реальном времени

DJI Phantom 4 RTK — портативное, доступное и точное решение для картографирования на малых высотах.

Terra_JP_wall_capture

Поскольку P4 RTK использует как GNSS, так и инновационный модуль RTK для предоставления данных о местоположении в реальном времени с сантиметровой точностью, Toppen не нужно было беспокоиться о точности структурных измерений. 20-мегапиксельная камера с CMOS-матрицей дрона позволяет зафиксировать максимально точные и детальные данные. 

Однако специалистам геодезии все еще нужен был способ убедиться, что они не упустили какие-то детали. Toppen мечтала о картографическом решении, которое позволило бы команде визуализировать трехмерное облако точек изучаемой области в режиме реального времени и принять решение, необходимы ли дополнительные полеты.

И так, DJI Terra. Для работы было выбрано универсальное решение для картографирования, поскольку никакое другое программное обеспечение не было так хорошо совместимо с P4 RTK.

Удобство сбора и обработки данных

Интуитивно понятная и простая в использовании платформа поддерживает создание диаметрических проекций. Это позволяет Toppen получить более четкий обзор замка Карацу, отрегулировав угол наклона камеры P4 RTK так, чтобы заполнить любые возможные пробелы в модели. 

Optimized Terra Transform

Высокий уровень детализации — не единственное преимущество, которое Toppen получила от DJI Terra. Программное обеспечение также позволяет сэкономить драгоценное время.

Благодаря последнему обновлению Terra, которое значительно повысило эффективность выполнения картографических задач, отпала необходимость в каком-либо специальном оборудовании для обработки данных. Terra требуется всего 1 Гбайт ОЗУ для обработки 400 изображений с P4 RTK — преимущество, которое означало, что Toppen был необходим только один дрон и одно устройство для обработки территории замка.

«DJI Terra присуща более высокая скорость обработки данных по сравнению с любым другим программным обеспечением для моделирования, которое мы использовали в прошлом», — говорит пилот Drone Pilot Юджи Кувамизу из Toppen. «С Terra 3D-данные могут создаваться немедленно на месте, и, используя эти данные, команды смогут быстро и эффективно принять обоснованные решения».

Используя комбинацию P4 RTK и DJI Terra, Toppen смогла сократить время выполнения заказа. «Работу, которая раньше занимала несколько часов, теперь можно завершить всего за несколько минут. И хотя раньше анализ данных можно было проводить только в офисах, теперь мы можем обрабатывать и анализировать данные на месте и сразу проверять любые расхождения», — объясняет Кувамизу.

К будущему готовы

Благодаря 3D-моделям, созданным с помощью DJI Terra, Карацу теперь обладает доступом ко всем деталям архитектуры одноименного замка. Кимото из отдела городского планирования говорит: «После разрушения каменной стены очень трудно восстановить место до его первоначального состояния. Поэтому важно иметь обновляемую и хорошо задокументированную запись собственности. Эти модели можно зафиксировать и сохранить для будущего использования, особенно на случай стихийного бедствия». 

Terra_JP_stone_models

Используя P4 RTK и DJI Terra, отдел городского планирования смог точно и эффективно зафиксировать высоту и глубину конструкции. «Мы стремимся эффективно использовать собранные данные, с тем чтобы поддерживать структуру каменной стены, созданной нашими предками, и сохранить ее для будущих поколений», — улыбается Кимото.

Начните с DJI Terra

Узнайте больше о том, почему Terra — лучшее решение для картографии, а также подробности о новых обновлениях программного обеспечения.

Чтобы начать с бесплатной пробной версии, сделать покупку или запросить консультацию у официального представителя DJI Enterprise, введите свои данные ниже.

Share on Social Media:

Tags: строительные и изыскательские работы

Building a Drone Program Playbook

Чтобы быть на связи и получать новости об электронных книгах, ресурсах и продуктах, подпишитесь на нашу рассылку.

Ishveena Singh
Об авторе Ishveena Singh

Другие статьи

Недавние сообщения

Энергетика

Коммерческие дроны в горном деле: создание безопасной зоны взрыва

Вторичная трудность при контролируемых взрывах в карьерах — безопасность оборудования, структур, но, главное, людей. К сожалению, независимо от времени и усилий, потраченных на подготовку,...
Читать дальше

строительные и изыскательские работы

Охрана культурного наследия Японии с помощью дронов и карт

Топография Японии и экстремальные климатические изменения делают страну подверженной стихийным бедствиям. Землетрясения и цунами — обычное для региона явление, равно как и извержения вулканов,...
Читать дальше

общественная безопасность

Как шведская полиция запустила одну из крупнейших программ по внедрению дронов в систему общественной безопасности в Европе

Известная на весь мир как одно из самых прогрессивных и счастливых мест на земле, Швеция — пятая по величине страна в Европе. Из года в год качество жизни в Швеции оценивается намного выше, чем в...
Читать дальше

общественная безопасность

Дроны ускоряют поисково-спасательные операции в Хорватии

Хорватия наполнена невероятным культурным богатством и насчитывает более 1200 островов и заливов. Хорваты ведут активный образ жизни и проводят много времени на свежем воздухе. Но рука об руку с...
Читать дальше

Japan is Protecting its Cultural Heritage with Drone Data and Mapping

With the 3D models generated from DJI Terra, a Japanese city now has access to every little detail on the construction of a centuries-old historical monument

By Ishveena Singh Ishveena Singh
August 13, 2020

Japan’s topography and extreme climatic variations make the country strikingly prone to natural disaster. Earthquakes and tsunamis are common occurrences, as are volcanic eruptions, typhoons, floods, and mudslides. And yet, Japan is thriving. The nation and its people know how to bounce back from disasters.

Historic preservation is at the heart of Japan’s culture of efficacy and resilience. The people move on, but they don’t forget. When rebuilding in the wake of destruction, care is taken to not disrupt the historic fabric of cultural properties. And with Japan linking heritage closely with community development, there’s an emphasis on creating digital twins of historical structures to both memorialize and preserve them.

A Castle Rising Out of The Sea

Situated on the top of a small hill above the Karatsu Bay in Saga prefecture of Japan, Karatsu Castle is a sight to behold during azalea, cherry, and wisteria blossoms. The seaside castle, which is likened to the head of a crane, holds in itself more than 400 years of history and heritage. 

Karatsu Castle scene

Construction of the Karatsu Castle began in 1602 and lasted for seven years. The castle remained a dignified symbol of the city until it was pulled down in 1872 after feudalism was abolished in Japan. The castle’s current five-story structure is a reconstruction that was built using traditional methods and techniques to mirror the 17th-century monument.

The stone walls that make up the castle tower are the only parts that remain from the original construction. Their historic value is immense.

“But these stone walls are being pushed out due to the effects of water seepage caused by earthquakes and heavy rains that have occurred many times in the past,” explains Satoshi Kimoto, City Planning Division, City of Karatsu, Saga Prefecture. The need to preserve and protect Karatsu Castle has never been more urgent.

Karatsu Castle walls

Toppen Co., Ltd, is a Saga Prefecture-based company that specializes in the digital preservation of properties and artifacts of cultural and historical importance. The task to preserve the heritage of the centuries-old castle was given to Toppen by the Karatsu City Lifelong Learning Cultural Property Division. 

Senior Engineer Kenichiro Tanaka explains that, typically, the company would create architectural drawings from photographs to preserve the details of a building facade for posterity. In the case of Karatsu Castle, however, the conventional techniques wouldn’t suffice. “Since stone walls are a three-dimensional structure, traditional methods have limitations on reproducing the structure in its entirety and the most accurate form.”

With their current data-gathering methods not yielding the desired outcomes, Toppen decided to leverage the latest tools and technologies that would allow the company to take 3D measurements and create a high-resolution, realistic 3D model of the castle.

Old World Meets New Tech: Drones and Real-Time Mapping

As the most compact, affordable, and accurate low-altitude mapping solution, the DJI Phantom 4 RTK was the clear choice for the job. 

Terra_JP_wall_capture

Since the P4 RTK utilizes both GNSS and a leading-edge RTK module to provide real-time, centimeter-level positioning data, Toppen did not have to worry about the absolute accuracy of the structural measurements. The team took comfort in the fact that the drone’s 20-megapixel CMOS sensor would capture the best imaging data within a single inch. 

But the surveyors still needed a way to figure out if they had left out any gaps in the model. Toppen wanted a mapping solution that would allow the team to render and visualize a 3D point cloud of the surveyed area in real-time and let them decide if more flights were needed.

Enter, DJI Terra. The all-in-one drone mapping solution was selected for this work because no other software is as compatible with the P4 RTK as is Terra.

User Friendly Data Capture and Processing 

The intuitive and easy-to-use mapping platform supports oblique mission planning. This means Toppen could get an extra crisp view of Karatsu Castle by adjusting the angle of the P4 RTK’s camera at a tilted angle and cover any possible gaps in the model. 

Optimized Terra Transform

But remarkable levels of detail was not the only benefit that Toppen would get out of DJI Terra. The software would also save precious processing time for the team.

With Terra’s latest update making the mapping solution exponentially more efficient, the need for any special hardware to process the data has been eliminated. Terra requires only 1GB RAM to process 400 images from the P4 RTK – a certain advantage that meant Toppen had to carry only one drone and one device for processing to the castle site.

“DJI Terra has a surprisingly fast processing speed compared to any other modeling software we have used in the past,” Toppen’s Drone Pilot Yuji Kuwamizu tells. “With Terra, 3D data can be created immediately onsite, and using this data, our teams can make informed decisions quickly and efficiently.”

By leveraging the powerful combination of P4 RTK and DJI Terra, Toppen was able to realize rapid turnaround time. “Work that would ordinarily take several hours can now be completed in just a matter of minutes. And while data analysis could previously be achieved only within the confines of our offices, we can now process and analyze the data onsite and instantly check for any discrepancies,” explains Kuwamizu.

Ready for The Future

With the 3D models generated from DJI Terra, the City of Karatsu now has access to every little detail on the construction of its namesake castle. Kimoto from the City Planning Division says, “Once a stone wall is broken, it is very difficult to recover the site to its original state. Therefore, having an updated and well-documented record of the property is essential. These models can be saved and stored for future use, especially in the case of a natural disaster.” 

Terra_JP_stone_models

Using the P4 RTK and DJI Terra, the City Planning Division has been able to capture the height and depth of the structure both accurately and efficiently. “We aim to use this data effectively, help maintain the structure of the stone wall created by our ancestors, and preserve it for now and for future generations,” Kimoto smiles.

Getting Started with DJI Terra

Read more about why Terra is the best mapping solution for your DJI drones and get the details of the software’s new updates.

To start a free trial, make a purchase, or request a consultation with an official DJI Enterprise dealer, please enter your details below.

Share on Social Media:

Tags: AEC & Surveying

Building a Drone Program Playbook

To stay in touch and receive ebooks, resources, and product updates, subscribe to our newsletter.

Ishveena Singh
About the Author Ishveena Singh

Related articles

Recent Posts

Swedish Police Mavic 2 Enterprise

Public Safety

How Swedish Police Started One of the Biggest Public Safety Drone Programs in Europe

Internationally lauded as one of the most progressive and happiest places on the planet, Sweden is the fifth largest country in Europe. The quality of life in Sweden is consistently considered to be...
Read More
Drone Japanese Cultural Preservation

AEC & Surveying

Japan is Protecting its Cultural Heritage with Drone Data and Mapping

Japan’s topography and extreme climatic variations make the country strikingly prone to natural disaster. Earthquakes and tsunamis are common occurrences, as are volcanic eruptions, typhoons, floods,...
Read More

Construction | AEC & Surveying

Drones Enable Digital Transformation with Contactless Inspections

The current COVID-19 pandemic has led many businesses to change their operations in an attempt to overcome current challenges. As many local governments have begun to implement stay-at-home orders or...
Read More
Hensel Phelps drones in construction

AEC & Surveying

Why Drones in Construction Are a Good Investment for AEC Firms

One of the largest general contractors in the US, Hensel Phelps, has witnessed unprecedented efficiencies with its in-house drone program A construction site is like a world unto itself. On any given...
Read More